Advanced Basics 301

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Advanced Basics 301

So I feel like I'm pretty solidly in the middle of the green group in Motovid.
    I run 1:22's at Blackhawk and 2:47s at RA on the big 'ol VFR.

I was thinking of signing up for a 301 class next year on May 5. I've never done any of the classes before. Do you think 301 would be too much since I've never taken the 101 or 201 performance clinics before?

Has anyone here taken the 301 class, was it worthwhile?
    1 3 5
    2 4 R

I think derekcb and his friend Dave did it last year. Hopefully they post up.
    2004 BMW R1100SA(street/Deer Spear)
    2008 Suzuki SV650 (track\race CCS AM#259)

Comment

I did do it last year. Was it worthwhile? It really depends on what your goals are. For me, it was a good refresher, and it was worthwhile.

The morning sessions are mostly focused on drills similar to the 101 and 201 (e.g., no brake drill, one-hand drill, left-center-right, etc.). The later sessions you start to break down the track into sections and focus on those sections for an entire session (e.g., breaking markers, corner entry, apex, proper line, exit, and linking consecutive turns for better line/flow. The mantra for the day was 70%, so don't expect to break sub 1:20s during the day. I don't think I logged a lap much faster than a 1:23 - most were likely in the 1:24+ range. You're focusing on skill development.